Fortnightly logo


An Evening of Chamber Music: Beach, Chopin, and Brahms
HAO HUANG, piano

The Mei Duo has been awarded grants for excellence in performance and scholarship by both the National Endowment for the Arts and the National Endowment for the Humanities. Dedicated to the principle of the violin-piano duo as chamber music, Rachel and Hao Huang have performed in such venues as Merkin Hall in Abraham Goodman House, Coolidge Auditorium in the Library of Congress and the National Museum of Women in the Arts, Washington, D.C..

Violinist Rachel Vetter Huang has performed as a concerto soloist with the Boston Pops, Concord Symphony Orchestra and others. She has performed extensively in Austria and China, and on public television and radio on both coasts of the USA. Dr. R. Huang holds degrees from Harvard University and the State University of New York at Stony Brook. She formerly taught as professor of violin at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro and currently serves on the faculty of Scripps College and Claremont Graduate University.

A four-time United States Information Agency Artistic Ambassador (Europe, Africa and the Middle East), pianist Dr. Hao Huang has gained critical acclaim in the Middle East, Asia, Africa, Europe, and North America. He has appeared as a featured soloist at the George Enescu International Music Festival and the Barcelona Cultural Olympiad. A graduate of Harvard University, the Juilliard School and SUNY at Stony Brook, Dr. H. Huang taught previously at the Hochschule für Musik “Franz Liszt” in Weimar and is currently Frankel Endowed Chair in Music and Senior Advisor to the President for International Initiatives at Scripps College, California.


Sonata for violin & piano in A minor, Op. 34..............................Amy Cheney Beach (1867-1944)
       Allegro moderato
       Largo con dolore
       Finale. Allegro con fuoco

Ballade No. 4 in F minor, Op. 52............................Frederic Chopin (1810- 1849)

Violin Sonata No. 1 in G major, Op. 78, Regensonate......Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
(for violin and piano)
       Vivace ma non troppo
       Allegro molto moderato