CMC Election Experts

Closeup of USA flag.

Claremont McKenna College faculty members are available for expert comment on a wide range of topics related to the 2022 midterm elections, including: California politics and California ballot measures; suburban and female suburban voters; political economy; impact of Russia/Ukraine; religion and politics; polling/understanding election results; election administration, and more.

Contact: Gilien Silsby, Director of Media Relations
gsilsby@cmc.edu
213-500-8673

Dianna Graves

Dionne Bensonsmith

  • Race and Gender Politics
  • Mental Health Policy
  • Reproductive Rights
  • Reproductive Justice
  • Black Women’s Politics (Voting, Economic/Job Mobility, Healthcare and Religion)

dbensonsmith@cmc.edu
 

Andrew Busch

Andrew Busch

  • American Politics
  • Political Parties
  • Campaigns and Elections
  • History of Midterm Elections

abusch@cmc.edu

Zachary Courser

Zachary Courser

  • American Politics
  • Political Parties
  • Congress
  • Campaigns and Elections
  • Elections Law

zcourser@cmc.edu
(617) 901-8787 (mobile)

Jeffrey Flory

Jeffrey Flory

  • Economics of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
  • Race in the Workplace and Labor Markets
  • Economics of Gender

jflory@cmc.edu

Michael Fortner

Michael Fortner

  • American Politics
  • Crime and Policing

mfortner@cmc.edu
(909) 607-1491
 

Dianna Graves

Lily Geismer

  • Suburban Voters
  • Future of Democratic Party
  • 20th Century Political and Urban History in the United States, especially Liberalism.
  • Democratic Party’s Promotion of Market-Based Solutions - Problems of Social Inequality.
  • Appealing to Suburban Women Voters

lgeismer@cmc.edu

Kenneth P. Miller

Kenneth P. Miller

  • California Politics
  • American Politics
  • Constitutional Law 
  • California Ballot Measures
  • Electoral Trends in States 
  • Author of “Texas Vs. California: A History of Their Struggle for the Future of America”

kmiller@cmc.edu

Stephanie Muravchik

Stephanie Muravchik

  • American Politics
  • Author of “Trump’s Democrats”

smuravchik@cmc.edu

Jack Pitney

Jack Pitney

  • American Politics
  • California Politics
  • U.S. Congress/Elections
  • Electoral Politics
  • Internet & Politics

jpitney@cmc.edu
(951) 323-0239 (mobile)

Jessamyn Schaller

Jessamyn Schaller

  • Health Policy
  • Gender
  • Labor Market Policy
  • Public Economics

jschaller@cmc.edu

Cameron Shelton

Cameron Shelton

  • Redistricting
  • Election Financing

cshelton@cmc.edu
(909) 284-3760 (mobile)

Jon A. Shields

Jon A. Shields

  • Religion and Politics
  • American Conservatism
  • Politics of Higher Education
  • Author of “Trump’s Democrats”

jshields@cmc.edu
(909) 607-7070

Andrew Sinclair

Andrew Sinclair

  • Election Administration
  • Polling
  • Understanding Election Results
  • California Politics

asinclair@cmc.edu
(626) 376-1105 (mobile)

George Thomas

George Thomas

  • Election/Potential Constitutional Crisis
  • Court Packing
  • American Constitutionalism
  • Constitutional Law
  • Supreme Court

gthomas@cmc.edu
(909) 908-0624 (mobile)

Contact

Office of Public Affairs and Communications

400 N. Claremont Blvd.
Claremont, CA 91711

Phone: (909) 621-8099
Email: publicaffairs@cmc.edu

Media inquiries: Gilien Silsby
Phone: (213) 500-8673
Email: gsilsby@cmc.edu