A Night of Special Honors: 2010 CMCAA Awards Dinner

More than a follow up to Commencement, the College's annual Awards & Honors dinner is also the opening celebration of Alumni Weekend and an occasion to toast CMCers who've demonstrated outstanding commitment to the College, as well asin some casesto public service.
On May 20, the Claremont McKenna College Alumni Association celebrated five individuals, including a professor and a longtime CMC staff member, who have supported the College in exceptional ways. Bringing them each to the stage was CMCAA president-elect Rick Voit '78, who served as master of ceremonies. John P Faranda '79, vice president for alumni and parent relations at CMC, received the inaugural John P. Faranda '79 Student Service Award, a brand-new award recognizing an alumna/us who has made a significant impact on the lives of CMC students.
The CMCAA board surprised Faranda by both establishing the award in his name, and honoring him as the first recipient, coinciding with his 25th anniversary on staff at CMC. Aside from his professional roles at the College, the award recognized his dedicated service to the Community Friends of International Place, his management of the Claremont Cougars Lacrosse team, and his dedication to the concept that students are, indeed, "alumni in residence." Manfred Keil, associate professor of economics, received the evening's CMCAA Honorary Life Membership. In his remarks, presenter G. David Huntoon '65, who worked with Keil on both Rose and Lowe Institute projects, described his friend as "bright, with a great sense of humor." Keil has served as chair of the Robert Day School of Economics and Finance, as a mentor for the Class of 2010 Posse Foundation scholars, and as a Rose Institute Fellow. Bob Emett '50 was given the night's Eugene L. Wolver Jr. '51 Lifetime Service Award. In his remarks, Wolver praised Emett's dedication, devotion, leadership, and service to the College. Emett served as CMCAA president from 1963 to 1964 and served as the first full alumni trustee in 1968. He chaired the first alumni relations committee, oversaw the renovation of The Hub, established the Emett Student Center, and funded the Robert L. Emett Scholarship.
In other honors, Cary Davidson '75, political and elections law attorney, received the Jack L. Stark Distinguished Service Award.
Presenter Jack Stark '57 noted that Davidson "serves and works diligently to improve his community." Davidson was CMCAA President from 1997 to 1998, an alumnus trustee for three years, a member of the Rose Institute Board of Governors, and also founded the Davidson Political Education Fellowship. Harry McMahon '75 P'08 P'09, executive vice chairman at Bank of America/Merrill Lynch, received the George C.S. Benson Distinguished Achievement Award.
In her remarks, presenter Laura (May) Grisolano '86 described working with McMahon as "an advanced course in senior leadership." McMahon is the chairman of the CMC Board of Trustees and founding member of the Kravis Leadership Advisory Board. Tiffany Williams '05

Media Contact

Office of Public Affairs and Communications

400 N. Claremont Blvd.
Claremont, CA 91711

Phone: (909) 607-9246
Email: pa@claremontmckenna.edu