CMC Professors Diana Selig and Wei-Chin Hwang to receive 7C faculty diversity awards

Claremont McKenna College faculty members Diana Selig and Wei-Chin Hwang have been chosen as two of the Claremont Colleges Faculty Diversity award winners. The Claremont Colleges Diversity Working Group is presenting the awards to Selig, Hwang and Jean Reith Schroedel of Claremont Graduate University on Wednesday, Feb. 22 at 3:30 p.m. in Balch Auditorium on the Scripps campus. A reception will follow and no RSVP is required.

The Claremont Colleges Diversity Teaching Award, given this year to Professor Selig and Professor Schroedel, recognizes those who regularly and effectively address issues or concerns related to diversity and inclusion through their classroom practices and curriculum.

The Claremont Colleges Diversity Mentor Award, given this year to Professor Hwang, honors an individual’s active support of students, staff, and colleagues from marginalized identities and backgrounds, and their work to ensure the success of the community as a whole.

The keynote speaker of the event is Dr. George Sanchez, Professor of American Studies & Ethnicity and History and Vice Dean for Diversity and Strategic Initiatives at the University of Southern California. His talk is titled “Do They Really Want Me?: Faculty of Color, Student Protests, and the Future of Predominantly White Campuses.”

Selig is the Kingsley Croul Associate Professor of History and George R. Roberts Fellow at CMC, while Hwang is a tenured full-time professor in psychology.