About the Claremont Colleges

Launch Experience
Explore the five undergraduate Claremont Colleges through this virtual tour.

Clustered both geographically and academically, the seven Claremont Colleges—five undergraduate and two graduate campuses—enable their students to attend a small, tightly-focused college even as they enjoy the benefits their "big school" seven-college consortium offers—cross-enrollment in classes; participation in a host of multi-campus social, academic, political, creative and religious organizations; all-campus dining privileges; and participation on a host of highly competitive NCAA Division III men's and women's athletic teams.

Pomona College
Established in 1887, Pomona is the founding member of The Claremont Colleges. Pomona offers a traditional liberal arts program, with majors in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, to approximately 1,520 men and women.

Claremont Graduate University
With an enrollment of just over 2,000 students, the Claremont Graduate University was founded in 1925 and offers master's and doctoral degrees in the humanities and social sciences, government, economics, mathematics, botany, management and education.

Claremont University Consortium
Claremont University Consortium (CUC) is the central coordinating and support organization for a highly regarded cluster of seven independent colleges known as The Claremont Colleges located in Southern California. Originally established in 1925 as part of Claremont University Center, in July 2000, CUC incorporated as a freestanding tax-exempt organization with a visionary Chief Executive Officer, committed Board of Overseers and 350 full-time employees.

Scripps College
An undergraduate women's college with a current enrollment of nearly 900 was founded by Ellen Browning Scripps in 1926. Scripps is well known for its core curriculum in the humanities and its emphasis on interdisciplinary study. Scripps offers concentrations in the arts, language and literature, philosophy and religion, science and social studies.

Claremont McKenna College
Claremont McKenna College is a highly selective, co-educational, liberal arts college educating leaders in business and public affairs. CMC was founded in 1946 and has a current enrollment of approximately 1,200 students.

Harvey Mudd College
A coeducational, 735-student college, Harvey Mudd joined the consortium in 1955 and offers undergraduate programs in engineering, science and mathematics, while also emphasizing the humanities and social sciences. The school produces highly competent scientists, mathematicians and engineers who understand the impact of their work on society.

Pitzer College
With a curriculum that emphasizes the social and behavioral sciences, particularly psychology, sociology, anthropology and political studies, Pitzer was founded in 1963 and is a coeducational college that enrolls nearly 950 students.

Keck Graduate Institute
The seventh and newest member of The Claremont Colleges was founded in 1997. The first American graduate school dedicated exclusively to the emerging fields of the applied life sciences, KGI offers professionally-oriented master's degrees. Its mission is to combine the vast power of ongoing developments in molecular biology, chemistry and related fields with creative, application-centered engineering.

The Claremont Institute, Claremont Lincoln University, and Claremont School of Theology are not affiliated with Claremont McKenna College or The Claremont Colleges.