Committees and Leaders

The following Presidential Initiative on Anti-Racism and the Black Experience in America committees helped CMC formulate its plan during the 2020-21 academic year.

We thank all of the participants for their time and commitment.

Student Steering Committee

  • Lauren Spencer ’23 (chair)
  • Walter Brostrom ’21
  • Carter Henderson ’21
  • Diana Hernandez ’21
  • JaDa Johnson ’21
  • Johnson Lin ’21
  • Lateshia Peters ’23
  • Courtney Reed ’22
  • Janise Waites ’22
  • Neyda Cujcuj Xoyon ’22
  • Zane Yamamoto ’24

Faculty Steering Committee

  • Tamara Venit-Shelton (chair), Professor of History
  • Andrew Busch, Crown Professor of Government and George R. Roberts Fellow
  • Gastón Espinosa, Arthur V. Stoughton Professor of Religious Studies
  • Heather Ferguson, Associate Professor of History
  • Michael Fortner, Associate Professor of Government
  • Jessamyn Schaller, Associate Professor of Economics
  • Sharda Umanath, Associate Professor of Psychology

Staff Steering Committee

  • Megan Gallagher (chair), Professor of Literature and Assistant Director of the Center for Writing and Public Discourse
  • Charles Dean, III, Athletic Trainer and Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Coordinator, CMS Athletics
  • Germaine Graham, Senior Associate Director, Financial Aid
  • Jenny Tyniec Guyett, Assistant Dean of Students and Director of Residential Life, Dean of Students
  • Tessa Klarin, Director of Advancement Services
  • Aithan Peterson, Associate Director of Academic Administration, Dean of the Faculty
  • Marilyn P. Pierce, Assistant Director, Kravis Leadership Institute
  • Sean Rollolazo, Assistant Dean of Students for Health and Well-Being
  • Thomas Rozwadowski, Director of Publications and Strategic Initiatives
  • Brian T. Weir, Director of Public Safety, Emergency Preparedness

Alumni Steering Committee

  • Tamara Lawson ’92 (chair), Dean and Professor of Law, St. Thomas University
  • Lorraine Bains ’88, Senior Vice President and Team Lead, City National Bank
  • Camilo Cueller ’09, MBA Candidate, UCLA Anderson School of Management
  • Patrick Elliott ’19, People Consultant, S&P Global
  • Carrie George ’80 P’14 P’16, Executive Coach, Carrie George Leadership Coaching
  • Antoine Grant ’07, Associate Partner, McKenzie and Co.
  • Camille (Cami) Griep ’99, Editor and External Comms Director, Prison Renaissance
  • Steve McGann ’73, Founder, The Stevenson Group
  • Emily Meinhardt ’10, Interior Designer, Studio Hardt
  • Bradley Pine ’85 P’21, Vice President, American Association for Clinical Chemistry
  • Angelica Quicksey ’12, Designer Manager, Nava
  • Ben Tillotson ’15, U.S. Policy, TikTok
  • Timothy Wright ’77, Managing Partner, Quintiaros, Prieto, Wood & Boyer, PA


  • Matthew Bibbens ’92
    Vice President for Administration and Planning and General Counsel
  • Dianna Graves ’98
    Associate Vice President and Dean of Students
  • Nyree Gray
    Associate Vice President for Diversity and Inclusion and Chief Civil Rights Officer
  • Shana Levin
    Associate Dean of the Faculty for Research, Crown Professor of Psychology and George R. Roberts Fellow
  • Muriel Poston
    Vice President of Strategic Initiatives