Professor Briana Toole stands in front of campus building

In June, CMC announced its Presidential Initiative on Anti-Racism and the Black Experience in America. As part of this ongoing effort, individual CMC faculty, departments, and institutes are addressing race and racism through various curricular and co-curricular actions. We asked faculty members to share their work in these areas, and what they will continue to do to promote sustained and substantive engagement with issues of racial inequality.

Prof. Briana Toole is an assistant professor of philosophy at CMC

Rima Basu

Across the CMC curriculum, members of our faculty are meeting the challenge of these unprecedented and historic times, delivering exceptional coursework in a fully online modality for the fall semester. In our Academic Innovations series of faculty Q&As, professors share their curricular highlights, best practices, and how students are helping to shape virtual learning for a memorable, collaborative academic experience.

Dustin Locke, an Associate Professor of Philosophy, has been named the 2018 Marc Sanders Prize in Metaethics winner for his co-authored paper, “Against Minimalist Responses to Moral Debunking Arguments.”

Philosophy department

At the Inaugural Community Celebration of CMC Faculty Publications and Grants, to be held on Feb. 10 at McKenna Auditorium, the Philosophy Department will recognize the stellar work of six of its faculty on numerous publications and two external grants received in 2016.

Caroline Bowman ’16

Caroline Bowman ’16 is definitely in demand.

The CMC senior, who graduates this fall with a degree in philosophy, has been accepted to 15 prestigious graduate schools and is wait-listed at one other.

The schools to which Bowman has been accepted include: Brown, Columbia, Cornell, Harvard, NYU, Princeton, Stanford, UC San Diego, University of Chicago, UNC Chapel Hill, University of Pittsburgh, University of Texas, University of Toronto and Yale. She was also admitted into the equivalent of a master’s program at Oxford University and was wait-listed at UC Berkeley.

Cameron Shelton and Aseema Sinha

Claremont McKenna College announces that two new professors have been added to the faculty of the Philosophy, Politics and Economics (PPE) Program.

Prof. Shelton is Associate Professor of Economics at the Robert Day School of Economics and Finance at CMC and Prof. Sinha is the Wagener Chair of South Asian Politics and George R. Roberts Fellow at CMC.