Faculty Awards

We want to hear about the great work of our CMC faculty!  Please click here to notify CMC’s Strategic Communications & Marketing team about your awards for research or creative work; notable publications, exhibitions; and any other research-related achievements.


Sharda Umanath.

Sharda Umanath

Prof. Sharda Umanath was awarded the 2023 Mentorship Award in Aging winner by the American Psychological Association’s Division 20 – Adult Development and Aging. She was selected in part thanks to the efforts of eight former CMC and Scripps students led by Madeline Valdez ’21. Umanath also received an Honorable Mention for the J. Don Read Early Career Award from the Society for Applied Research in Memory and Cognition.

Sharda Umanath.

Sharda Umanath

Prof. Sharda Umanath is a recipient of the Psychonomic Society 2023 Early Career Award. The Psychonomic Society, the preeminent society for the experimental study of cognition, confers scientific awards each year upon young scientists who have made excellent research contributions to the field of cognitive psychology early in their careers. She is the first awardee from a small liberal arts college in the history of the award.

Stacy Doan.

Stacey Doan

Prof. Stacey Doan was recently awarded two major grants to support her research on resilience in youth, including $250,000 from the Ho Foundation and 3.5 million from the National Institute of Mental Health. Project PRISM will support Claremont College students in testing and evaluating the effectiveness of a resilience intervention in local high schools, aiding CMC to apply its principles of responsible leadership and community engagement. The project will impact hundreds of adolescents in the LA and San Bernardino communities.

Amy Kind.

Amy Kind

Prof. Amy Kind was recently elected to a three-year leadership term of the Pacific Division of the American Philosophical Association (APA). The APA promotes the discipline and profession of philosophy. Kind will be serving one year as vice-president, one year as president, and one year as past-president.

Chelsea Wang.

Chelsea Wang

Prof. Chelsea Wang, a historian of late imperial China, won a prestigious early career fellowship through the Henry Luce Foundation/American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) Program in China Studies. This grant will enable Wang to complete her first book, “Logistics of Empire: Governance and Spatial Friction in Ming China, 1368-1644.” Through this work, Wang hopes to answer longstanding questions about the seemingly counterintuitive bureaucratic practices of this vast and powerful imperial dynasty.

Jeho Park

Jeho Park

Prof. Jeho Park been elected as the Vice President of the Korean-American Scientists and Engineers Association (KSEA) for the 52nd term (2023-2024). The KSEA is one of the largest and oldest professional societies outside South Korea. Its mission is to provide and promote international cooperation, career development, and community service in science, technology, and entrepreneurship.

Lisa Cody

Prof. Lisa Cody was honored by the Pacific Coast Conference on British Studies for best article, “Marriage is No Protection for Crime”: Coverture, Sex, and Marital Rape in Eighteenth-Century England.” Cody is a cultural historian of Britain and Northern Europe. Her teaching specializes in the history of the human body, including abortion, reproduction, sexuality, gender, and violence across the Atlantic and Northern European worlds.

Ran Libeskind-Hadas

Prof. Ran Libeskind-Hadas has been elected vice chair of the Computing Research Association, which represents the computer science research community in North America, and more than 250 universities, colleges, industrial research labs, and other organizations in the U.S. and Canada. Libeskind-Hadas, who is the inaugural chair for the Kravis Department of Integrated Sciences, is the first faculty member from an undergraduate institution to serve on the executive council of the board.

Esther Chung Kim.

Esther Chung-Kim

Prof. Esther Chung-Kim has been elected as the incoming President of the American Society of Church History, the oldest academic society in the field of religion. Chung-Kim is chair of the Religious Studies Department, and specializes in the history of world Christianity, including the European Reformations. Her research examines religious conflict, history of poverty, and the impact of religion on politics, economics, and society. Her vision for the Society and higher education is to promote scholarship and teaching that moves the conversation from "what we know best" to "what do others need to learn?"

David Day

Prof. David Day was invited to join the inaugural National Advisory Committee for the Carnegie Elective Classification for Leadership for Public Purpose. As a committee member, his key responsibilities are to act as ambassador, and advise on framework revisions, the review process and reviewer qualifications, and policies and programming as requested.