CMS Athletics, Basketball, Swim & Dive

CLEVELAND, Ohio – The rise of Claremont-Mudd-Scripps Athletics on the national stage continued this winter, as CMS moved up from 19th after the fall, to 14th in the final winter Learfield Sports Directors' Cup Division III standings for 2014-15. The latest rankings were announced on April 2 by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA).

CMS has had continued success in the 19-plus year existence of the Directors’ Cup competition which awards points based on a team’s finish at the NCAA Championships.

CMS student swimming

Women’s and men’s swimmers & divers from Claremont-Mudd-Scripps competed at the NCAA Division III Championships March 18-21 in Shenandoah, Texas.

For the third-straight season, the CMS men's swimming & diving team secured a top-10 finish at the NCAAs. This season, the Stags wrapped up the four-day NCAA Championships which ended on March 21, with a fifth place finish, which continues the program's upward trend at nationals in recent years. Over the last four seasons, the Stags have finished in 27th (2012), 10th (2013), 7th (2014) and now 5th.

CMS - 2015 SCIAC Men's Basketball Postseason Tournament Champions

Each of the four winter sports teams for Claremont-Mudd-Scripps Athletics are participating in their respective NCAA Championships. Below is information on each of the teams including game and event times, information on where to watch and follow along and much more.

Women's Basketball, CMS, Athenas, NCAA, Conference Champions

For the second-straight year, all four winter sports teams for Claremont-Mudd-Scripps have each won their respective Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) championship, to earn a clean sweep in the winter sports at the conference level. The conference’s four winter sports offered which CMS competes in are women’s swimming & diving, men’s swimming & diving, men’s basketball and women’s basketball.

New Coach, Matt Edwards, CMS, Men's Soccer

Matt Edwards has been selected as the sixth head coach in the 46-season history of the Claremont-Mudd-Scripps men’s soccer program, CMS Director of Athletics Michael Sutton, the William B. Arce Professor and George R. Roberts Fellow for Claremont McKenna College announced on Jan. 13. Edwards takes over a CMS program that is coming off a 9-7-1 season in 2014 and that has won four SCIAC Postseason Tournament championships and made four appearances in the NCAA Division III championships in the last six seasons. He begins his head coaching duties with CMS at the beginning of February.

Tain Lee (left) and Brad Shigezawa (right)

Former Claremont-Mudd-Scripps men’s golf All-Americans Tain Lee (CMC ’12) and Brad Shigezawa (CMC ’14) were NCAA Division III national champions during their time in Claremont. Their success as amateurs has carried over after college, as both golfers now are chasing down their dreams in the professional ranks. Over the last month, Shigezawa and Lee have both made great strides in their professional careers.

CMS tops Pomona-Pitzer for second-straight year
Volleyball team

Recap courtesy of Cal Lutheran Athletics, host of the Regional, with contributions from CMS Athletics

(Watch Postmatch Interview) (Watch Match Point) (Photos)

2014 Ironman World Championships

A tiny number of individuals on the planet at any point in their lives have an interest in going out and completing a 2.4-mile ocean swim, 112-mile bike race or 26.2-mile run. Even fewer actually have the determination, will and fitness level to attempt and complete any one of those three athletic endeavors in their lifetime, let alone all three.

Sixth Street Trophy

CLAREMONT, Calif. – During halftime of the Claremont-Mudd-Scripps football team’s Homecoming Game on Saturday, Oct. 11 against La Verne, CMS Director of Athletics Mike Sutton '76 will present the new rivalry trophy that will be given annually to the winner of the football game between CMS and Pomona-Pitzer. The new trophy replaces the Peace Pipe, which had been exchanged between the Stags and Sagehens since 1959 and was retired in November of 2013, prior to the annual rivalry game.