Faculty Advisors

Professor Heather Fergueson speaking to students on the Athenaeum courtyard.

Representing every department in the College, our inaugural Faculty Advisory Council provides guidance to Open Academy programs. These faculty members also help plan and frequently participate in core programming, while also serving as important Open Academy ambassadors to the faculty at large.

Faculty Advisory Council Members
Established March 2022

David Bjerk
Russell S. Bock Professor of Public Economics and
Taxation/Department Chair

Robert Day School of Economics and Finance

Stacey Doan
Professor of Psychological Science and Director of the Berger Institute
Psychological Sciences

Bassam Frangieh
Professor of Arabic
Modern Languages and Literatures

Ran Libeskind-Hadas
Kravis Professor of Integrated Sciences: Computational Biology and Founding Chair

Mukasa Mubirumusoke
Assistant Professor of Africana Studies
Intercollegiate Department of Africana Studies

Jessamyn Schaller
Associate Professor of Economics
Robert Day School of Economics and Finance

George Thomas
Burnet C. Wohlford Professor of American Political Institutions and Director of the Salvatori Center for Individual Freedom

Sarah Cannon
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Mathematical Sciences

Michael Fortner
Pamela B. Gann Associate Professor of Government and George R. Roberts Fellow

Lily Geismer
Professor of History

Seth Lobis
Associate Professor of Literature

Diana Selig
Kingsley Croul Associate Professor of History and George R. Roberts Fellow

Alex Rajczi
Professor of Philosophy, Deborah and Kenneth Novack Professor of Ethics and Leadership, and George R. Roberts Fellow

Jamel Velji
Associate Professor of Religious Studies
Religious Studies

Join Us

We seek strategic, programmatic, and philanthropic partners to advance the promise and potential of The Open Academy. Your partnership and support make this possible. Together, we can overcome what divides us and solve the world’s most challenging problems.

Give Today