Recent William F. Podlich Distinguished Fellows

Lee J. Alston
Professor of Economics, University of Colorado-Boulder; Professor of Economics, Political Science and Government and Public Affairs, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Dame Gillian Beer
King Edward VII Professor of English, Cambridge University, author, and former chair of the Booker Prize Committee.

Michael Berenbaum, Ph.D.
Conceptualized the US Holocaust Memorial Museum, Washington, D.C. and now serves as president and CEO of the Survivors of the Shoah Visual History Foundation.

Richard N. Boyd
Susan Linn Sage Professor Philosophy and Professor of Science and Technology Studies, Cornell University.

Charles W. Calomiris
Henry Kaufman Professor of Financial Institutions at the Columbia University Graduate School of Business and Professor at Columbia’s School of International and Public Affairs.

Ernesto Cortez
Recipient of the MacArthur Prize; Industrial Areas Foundation (IAF) and Communities Organized for Public Service (COPS).

William A. Darity, Jr.
Cary C. Boshamer Professor of Economics and adjunct faculty in sociology, UNC-Chapel Hill; Research Professor of Public Policy Studies, African and African American Studies and Economics, Duke University.

William Deresiewicz
Contributing Writer, The Nation; Contributing Editor, The New Republic; Contributing Editor, The American Scholar.

Angus S. Fletcher
Distinguished Professor Emeritus of English and Comparative Literature, Graduate School of the City University of New York; Distinguished Professor of English and Comparative Literature, Herbert H. Lehman College; Co-Editor, Shakespearean International Yearbook

Jerry Fowler
Staff director, the Committee on Conscience, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum.

Ian Frazier
Writer, The New Yorker and Author of; Great Plains, Family, and On the Rez.

John Lewis Gaddis
Author and Professor of History, Yale University.

Mary Gaitskill
Writer In Residence at Hobart and William Smith College.

Michael Ghiselin
MacArthur Prize recipient and senior research fellow, California Academy of Science.

Pierre Hassner
Research Director Emeritus, Centre d'Etudes et de Recherches en Internationales, Paris.

Sir Michael Howard
Former professor of history at Oxford and Yale; dean of Britain's military historians.

David Hull
Dressler Professor of Philosophy, Northwestern University.

Leszek Kolakowski
Philosopher and historian, recipient of the MacArthur Prize.

Daniel C. Kurtzer
Lecturer in Public and International Affairs, Woodrow Wilson School and S. Daniel Abraham Visiting Professor in Middle East Policy studies; Commissioner, Israel Baseball League; former Ambassador to Israel and Egypt.

Richard Lewontin
Alexander Agassiz Research Professor of Biology, Harvard University.

David McCullough
Historian and bestselling author; two-time winner of the Pulitzer Prize.

James M. McPherson
Pulitzer Prize-winning historian and Professor Emeritus of American History, Princeton University.

Adam Michnik
Author; editor-in-chief of Gazeta Wyborcza, Poland's largest newspaper; one of the primary leaders of the Solidarity Movement.

Nelson Polsby
Professor of Political Science, University of California-Berkeley.

Leonard V. Smith
Frederick B. Artz Professor of History, Oberlin College; Author of: “The Embattled Self: French Soldiers’ Testimony of the Great War”.

William B. Quandt
Professor of Politics, University of Virginia; Former Senior Staff Member, National Security Council; Former Senior Fellow, The Brookings Institution; Honorary Woodrow Wilson Fellow.

Abdourahman Waberi
Novelist, journalist, essayist, poet. Recipient of the Grand Prix Littéraire de l’Afrique noire (1996), the Prix biennal “Mandat pour la liberté” (PEN CLUB France, 1998), and the Prix Albert Bernard 1994 of the Académie des Sciences d’Outre-mer de Paris (1994) awards.

Alan Wolfe
Author and Professor of Political Science, Boston College.

Joanna Zach-Ronda
Professor of International Polish Studies, Jagiellonian University in Krakow.


Office of the Dean of the Faculty

Claremont McKenna College
500 E. Ninth Street
Claremont, CA 91711

Phone: (909) 621-8117
Fax: (909) 607-1212

Campus Location

Bauer Center, Second Floor
500 E. Ninth Street
Claremont, CA 91711